Reclaiming Christmas

“Before last year, I wouldn’t listen to Christmas music until Thanksgiving Day. I bumped that up to November 1. . . yes, I’m one of those. To friends who plan to chastise me, here are my preemptive responses:

1. The early onset of Christmas enhances Thanksgiving, it does not belittle it.
2. ‘Christmas songs’ and ‘holiday sales’ are not alike. Don’t confuse celebrating Christmas with commercializing it.
2. The biblical narrative of ‘the Christmas story’ covers a period of approximately two years, so two months isn’t overdoing it.

And now, back to preparing my playlist.”

~ Facebook Status from Author Tim Grissom

2 thoughts on “Reclaiming Christmas

  1. I like the way you think, Trisha!!! I agree 100%. A beautifully decorated tree highlights all the thanksgiving decor and so does Christmas music. Gives us all even more to be thankful for….

  2. I do my best “deep housecleaning” to Christmas music……anytime of the year. Somehow it makes the process more doable:)

Comments are closed.