Lover of My Soul

I’m not especially wooed by the images of Jesus I’ve seen since my childhood.  The golden hair, the white robes, the gentle, open hands and eyes.  I don’t know why it doesn’t do anything for me.

Maybe it’s because it’s one man’s version.  Maybe it’s because I want an image that can grow with me.  I don’t know.  I just can’t get excited about spending time with the Jesus in the picture books.  Culturally, it’s likely he looked nothing like that blond-haired, blue-eyed American.

But who says I have to picture him that way, in the first place?

When I let my mind wander to imagine him differently, it turns out he is strikingly handsome.  Dark hair, a great haircut, probably some product in it.  Maybe he’s wearing a J.Crew shirt, crisply ironed, untucked over his slightly distressed jeans.  Perhaps a five o’clock shadow.

Maybe this is the man who waits for me at Starbucks, with his eyes that shine and listen.  Maybe this is the picture of the man who waits to hear my every word, to listen and not fix, to love with a beautiful, pure jealousy.

He’s engaging, distracting, inviting, and expectant.  He wants to hear what’s on my mind, the silly trivial things and the heart wrenching details.  He wants to reach across the table and sweep my bangs across my forehead so he can see my eyes more clearly.  He wants to hold my hand and not care who’s watching. He wants to sing loudly in the car to our favorite songs, marvel at the sunset, and always kiss me goodnight.

Forgive me for materializing Jesus.  I don’t mean to make light of him.  It’s just that he writes openly about the intimacy he wants with me, with you, so maybe I’m not far off.

It’s just that I deeply want to fall in love with this Lover of My Soul.

6 thoughts on “Lover of My Soul

  1. You had my heart palpitating at the very thought of Him…just as it should be.

    thank you.

    (and I like to think David’s friends blushed at how he wrote of God and danced for him, too…)

  2. “…he had no form or majesty that we should look at him, and no beauty that we should desire him.He was despised and rejected by mankind, a man of suffering, and familiar with pain. Like one from whom people hide their faces he was despised, and we held him in low esteem.Surely he has borne our griefs and carried our sorrows; yet we esteemed him stricken, smitten by God, and afflicted.But he was wounded for our transgressions; he was crushed for our iniquities; upon him was the chastisement that brought us peace, and with his stripes we are healed.” Isaiah 53

    We love Him, because He first loved us…What’s not to love?

    ( :

  3. Wanna know what Jesus looks like? There’s a picture of Him drawn from memory in the book “Heaven is For Real.” The book is written by the father of a boy named Colton who died and went to Heaven and then saw a picture of Jesus that a another artistic child prodigy drew, after her own Heaven experience. Colton verified that it was indeed the man he also saw, after rejecting numerous other renderings shown to him by his father. This book is not lengthy so a great read-especially for the author who must devote time to her own writing…and YES, Jesus has GREAT hair in the picture, as you thought…
    Love to you,
    Lynda Wishart

Comments are closed.